Winter Sleep

December 31, 2015

 

The last two months went by in a blink, between working hard at the museum, catching up with friends before Christmas, interspersed with some panicking about the PhD, and finally, collapsing for a week of Christmas hibernation in the Tyrolean Alps, where much-needed sleep and food was had. Now, I am in Vienna to spend a few days with [c], to catch up with some of the other wonderful people here, and to generally continue with the recharging of batteries before I will return to London for what will be a very full January work-wise. Being in Vienna also means that I have my trusted photographer at hand for some knitwear documentation:

Pattern: Hayward by Julie Hoover
Yarn: Brooklyn Tweed LOFT [colour: Sweatshirt]
Needles: 4.5mm
[More project details on Ravelry]

I was in desperate need for a good layering piece, and this pattern fits that bill perfectly. The clever shape, somewhere between poncho and sweater, makes this piece perfect for throwing on over a T-Shirt or dress, and I will also be able to wear it by itself once the days will get warmer again. My lack of sewing skills presented me with quite a challenge when assembling the single parts of the project, but I am happy to report that after about five failed attempts, I have now finally mastered the art of the invisible mattress stitch. Success!

[c] and I will retreat to the countryside for a quiet transition into the New Year. Have a good 2016, with lots of time for your loved ones, nature, making, writing, and with whatever else makes you happy!

Leave a Reply

