Boyfriend at the Beach

February 24, 2012

I have transferred my PhD office to Vienna for some days [luckily, all I need for that is a laptop, a functioning internet connection and some books and photocopies], in order to spend some time with [c] and to visit some of my friends. A windy walk this morning to say hello to the city was the perfect opportunity to take some shots of my new, recently finished cardigan:

Pattern: Division Cardigan by Amy Cristoffers
Yarn: Alice Starmore Hebridean 2 Ply [Colour: Pebble Beach]
Needles: 4 mm
[More project details on Ravelry]
Buttons: Vintage leather buttons from [c]’s great grand-aunt’s famous button box

I became aware of the Alice Starmore Hebridean through Kate Davies, whose blog, as you may know, is an inexhaustible source for any yarn and textile lover. Kate chose a selection of this beautiful yarn for her famous Caller Herrin’ hat, and made extremely clever use of the amazing shades for the wonderful colourwork of the design [and colourwork is the  technique these yarns are really put centre stage]

Alice and Jade Starmore take the inspiration for all of their yarns’ colour shades from the Hebridean landscape and animals that surround them [read the full Hebridean Colour Story here]. I fell so much in love with this concept, that despite all the beautiful colourwork patterns on Ravelry, I decided to knit up a project that would focus on the beauty of one single of the Starmore Hebridean yarns [and that, of course, would give me a good excuse to once more indulge myself in my never ending love affair with stockinette stitch!]. Pebble Beach is part of the Sea and Shoreline colours, and for me, it really incorporates all the beauty, roughness and silence of Northern beaches. It makes me want to go to the Isle of Lewis immediately. And I find it fascinating how different the colour looks when not accompanied by others …

And, believe it or not, a second already finished project travelled to Vienna with me. Photographs might be taken during the next days, so stay tuned!

2 Responses to “Boyfriend at the Beach”

  1. LuisaM said

    Beautiful!
    It is a real eulogy to the yarn.

  2. I am captivated by that Starmore colourway; it’s infuriatingly difficult to incorporate into fair isle designs! And yet so compelling in all its pebbly shades… it’s amazing to see a whole garment made from just that yarn and to see the colourway shining for its own sake. What a beautiful cardigan, I bet it’s warm, too.

Leave a Reply

