Settled Down

January 4, 2012

First of all, I would like to wish all of you a very happy 2012! May it be a good and fulfilling one for all of us! The last one surely was for me: I started out in Vienna facing a new and challenging job, and ended up in London as a student again, life turned upside down. Who would have thought?

Since my last post in October, quite a lot has happened: Once again, I had to adapt my daily rhythms to the work of independent research, strolling through libraries and archives, hearing lectures, attending seminars, and above all, searching again for the slow and steady ways of concentrated reading, thinking and writing. I have to admit that I found this transition quite difficult, especially after the rather hectic working speed I was used to before coming to London. But as my supervisor [who is really great, by the way] very wisely said: A PhD is not a sprint, it is a marathon. And indeed, step by step, I am getting used to this new life of mine, and I am enjoying it immensely.

In November, I moved into my new home south of the Thames, a lovely room in a small and beautiful house [with garden!] originating from the 1830ies. Below are some glimpses of its beautiful and lovely corners,* more pictures will follow as soon as I will find the time to do some decorating [so many ideas, so few free hours!].


I am sharing the house with the very lovely ms. [j], her very bright 9-year-old daughter [m], and a very small feline creature not listening to any of the names she is called. I got used to lovingly addressing her as Little Devil, though. It just suits her so well. So far, the four of us are getting along very well. [j] works in the cultural sector, so we have a lot of interests in common and always find something to talk about, and [m] and I share a fancy for both Enid Blyton and Fitzwilliam Darcy. As for the kitty, as long as she only sleeps and purrs on one of my knitted goods and does not go crazy with my alpaca yarn balls, I am very fond of her, too.

So, everything is fine with me here on the Isles. I am very much looking forward to this new year, and hope that it will bring me a lot of new and exciting experiences!**

* For the moment, you will have to bear with the blurry photographs my mobile phone is able to take. Hopefully, a new camera will be on its way soon.

** And some knitting, too! By the way, apologies to my Ravelry-friends out there for being so silent and comment-less during the last months. The only real downside of my new place is that I cannot connect my computer to the Ravelry website [although all other websites are working fine], which is why I was absent from the space for so long! I am still working on a solution for the problem, but I promise to be back soon!

One Response to “Settled Down”

  1. Vera said

    Dear Michaela. I’m glad to read that everything is fine with you and that you are happy with your new life and home.
    I wish you all the best for 2012 and I hope indeed to see some activity on Ravelry soon :)). x Vera (ravelry maanel).

Leave a Reply

