A shepherd’s hut

October 24, 2011

This is just a quick post of the go-look-elsewhere variety: On his English Buildings blog, Philip Wilkinson has a fine new post about an old shepherd’s hut, more precisely about one of those huts on wheels which allowed shepherds to follow their flock around the countryside when necessary.

I just thought this might be of interest to those of you with a penchant for the history of wool production.

Oh, and for those of you with an interest in wool and in Terry Pratchett let me add that it’s the kind of movable hut inhabited by Granny Aching in the Tiffany Aching series…

5 Responses to “A shepherd’s hut”

  1. Interesting, thanks. I wonder how they got them around, did they just pull them or hitch them up to donkeys/mules?

    My little boy had his first introduction to Pratchett last week, listening to ‘I shall wear midnight’ on two 4 hour car rides. He loved it, only then, when he heard Tony Robinson’s voice on the History Channel, he said “It’s Tiffany!” – that took a bit of explaining (-:

    • [c] said

      Actually, I’ve been wondering the same thing. From the information I found online, it appears that these huts had to be drawn by horses (though I guess a donkey/mule would have done as well). But from what I understand, they would actually stay put in one place for most of the time and were only moved once in a blue moon, mostly during lambing season.

      And I’m glad to hear that your son has such good taste in (audio) books :-)

  2. kat said

    I dream of holidays in such a hut since I read Enid Blyton’s “Five” at the age of 10…

Leave a Reply

