Knitted Love

July 7, 2011

[a] was the first person I truly connected to when I moved to Vienna now almost fourteen years ago. Coming from the northern Spanish town of Pamplona [or Iruña, as it is called in Basque] to Austria to learn German, by complete coincidence she ended up in the same student flat than me, the first year art history student from the Tyrolean alps. What started out as the friendly encounter of two complete strangers coming from two different parts of the world, soon grew into a friendship that I still consider as one of the most important things in my life. Even though our time conquering the city as two young and adventurous girls was limited to six months befor [a] returned to Spain to pursue her studies there, we still managed to keep track of each other’s lives throughout all these years. On June 13th, a life-changing event for [a] took place – she and her husband had a beautiful little baby boy. And of course, what else was there to do for me than knit all my happiest thoughts, best wishes and love into a soft little garment?

PatternManda Ruth by Jane Richmond
Yarn: Rowan Amy Butler Belle Organic Aran [Colour: slate]
Needles: 5.5 mm
Buttons: buttonalia
[More project details on Ravelry]

I am really happy with how this little gift turned out, and I am very much looking forward to wrapping it up, taking my time to write a long, long letter and bringing the parcel to the post office…

 
 

One Response to “Knitted Love”

  1. Annie said

    That jacket is so sweet. I’ve been knitting for a friend’s baby myself this last week. Luckily I’ll see her and young Finn when I deliver his handknit as she lives close enough for me to visit in person, but you’ve inspired me to pop a letter into the parcel anyway, because sometimes the best way to pass on your good wishes is in writing :D

Leave a Reply

