Blast you, Thomas Mann!

May 17, 2011

So I just read Thomas Mann’s classic Der Tod in Venedig [Death in Venice] and guess what? Now I have an incredible urge to go to Venice. Actually, we’re sort of planning a short trip to Venice to see the Biennale, anyway, but unfortunately our plans are for sometime in autumn. Blast! [Throws himself on floor and whines “Mummy, wanna go Venice NOW!”]

Venice, The Lagoon with the Cemetery Island of San Michele

See, that’s what reading does for you: It makes you want to do things and see places. And, occasionally, it’ll even make you think about and question things that go on in the world. No wonder, then, that at all times and places tyrants and dictators have tried to put the reins of censorship on literature and those who produce it… So, yes, I know that I should stop whining and be thankful to live in a country where it’s possible to read any book I like and where my going to Venice is only impeded by my own schedule and not by a government that won’t let me leave the country. But hey, being a petulant three-year-old is just so much more fun than being grown-up and rational, so I’ll just stick with the “wanna go Venice NOW“-routine and be cranky for the rest of the day because, apparently, I’m not going to get my wish ;-)

Leave a Reply

