Peas

April 12, 2011

Yep, you read right: This is a post about peas… It all begins, really, with our friend [k] going on about one of her favourite topics, the ecological footprint. One of the things she mentioned when we talked to her a little while ago was how extremely bad deep-frozen products are for the environment. I must admit I’d never been aware of this, but it’s quite self-evident once you actually start thinking about all the energy that is needed to flash freeze something and then keep it frozen until it reaches the consumer. Well, I guess it’s a good thing [m] and I hardly ever buy deep-frozen stuff, anyway ;-)

The one thing that you’ll (almost) always find in our freezer, however, is a pack of peas. We wouldn’t dream of buying any other vegetable deep-frozen rather than fresh, but with peas, you know, it’s just so much handier when you don’t have to buy them in pods and painstakingly take them out of the pods yourself. Besides, I always figured, it’s rather hard to get fresh peas in Vienna, anyway…

But just a few days after our discussion with [k] I found a batch of them in our local supermarket, so maybe I just wasn’t looking hard enough. The problem is, though, that according to the label those “fresh” peas were grown in the South of Italy, so with transport and everything I’m afraid they’ll have a rather large ecological footprint of their own. I bought them anyway, mostly because it’d been ages since I’d last eaten peas fresh out of the pod and I suddenly realized how much I’d missed that.

When I was a kid, even when I was a teenager, we always used to have fresh peas in our garden. There were so many of them that we’d harvest them in huge bowls and then, in the evening, my mum, my sister and me would sit down in front of the TV to take them out of the pods. This was a slow and painstaking job and I always found it rather annoying. On the other hand, it had a certain ritual quality to it, so in some strange way I liked it. And somehow, I realize, I miss that, too…

So yes, this was a post about peas. They may not seem too exciting to you, but in some weird way I’m really fond of them. Isn’t it strange how even vegetables assume meaning once you attach memories to them?

2 Responses to “Peas”

  1. Natalie said

    My memories of podding peas are very pleasant. It’s true that it seems to take forever and in the end you wind up with such a small amount of peas and lots of material for the compost heap…

    re: ecological footprint – I agree with your thoughts on the “price” of frozen peas, but in 99 out of 100 times I prefer frozen peas to canned peas!

    • [c] said

      Belated thanks for your comment, Natalie!
      And let me add that I wholeheartedly agree with you about canned peas – in fact, I dislike them so much I didn’t even consider mentioning them as an option in my post ;-)

Leave a Reply

