You got to walk that snowy valley…

March 1, 2011

So, here are some pictures from that skiing trip I mentioned last week

Me and my family have been going skiing to the same place for more than 25 years now, so it’s become almost a Dinner for One-like “same procedure as every year”-routine. (Yes, including the drunken butler character, but I won’t go into detail about that…)

This year, however, we didn’t get to do much actual skiing, because for most of the time the mountains were engulfed in dense fog and any kind of downhill movement at more than a snail’s pace would have been extremely hazardous. Instead, we spent an unusually large part of our holiday taking long walks down in the valley where the fog wasn’t quite so bad.

I took the chance to capture the wintery landscape with my mum’s very basic point-and-shoot camera – unfortunately I hadn’t brought my own camera, because I’d figured that carrying around my DSLR while skiing wouldn’t be such a sensible idea… Even though I did miss my camera’s wide angle lens and manual fine tuning options on some occasions, most of the photos turned out quite nicely in the end, anyway.

But then, I guess that a wintery landscape covered in freshly fallen snow will always look good in a photo, no matter how “primitive” the equipment you use…

That said, I still hope that was the last of winter I have seen for this season – can we please have some spring now?!

Leave a Reply

