[meouw]

February 22, 2011

And here I am again, presenting yet another little finished knitting project. This one I made for [a], [c]’s sweet little niece who will soon celebrate her first birthday:

PatternGreta the Captivating Cat by Rebecca Danger
Yarn: Blue Sky Alpacas Organic Cotton [Colours: Poppy and Drift]
Needles: 3.5 mm
[More project details on Ravelry]

It is my firm belief that every little girl [and boy, for that matter] should have their own little philosophical feline companion, and so of course I had to knit [a] a strong-minded cat with stripes. And look, the little fellow already seems to share my fondness for high-class literature:

On a more technical note I have to report that my first try at making a stuffed animal can be considered a success. Although I found it rather difficult to produce so little and delicate pieces such as paws, ears and tail and that I struggled even more with sewing on those little limbs, I am quite happy with the outcome of this endeavor. I have learned quite a lot of new things, among them that it is not so easy to knit worsted yarn on 3.5 mm needles, and that it is not so easy to stuff a stuffed animal properly either.

It was worth the effort, though. I am quite content, and already prepared to do some further animal knitting in the future. Seriously, who can resist such eccentric personalities as Tofu the Gentle Dachshund, Wasabi the Gregarious Pug or  Penelope the Empathetic Monster?!?

Leave a Reply

