Withered Stones

January 30, 2011

Although my professional occupation with medieval art has always had a very strong focus on wall and panel painting, I have been quite fond of late gothic architecture as well. Especially the beautifully constructed rib vaults and high ceilings that can be found in so many Central European late medieval churches, never cease to amaze me:

Kutná Hora, St. Barbara Church (c) Bernd Janning

I just love the rich and imaginative repertoire of forms and shapes and the intricate and complex patterns of looped vaults and ribs that form flowers, trees as well as beautiful abstract curves and geometric patterns. The rib-vaulted ceiling of St. Barbara’s Church in the Bohemian city of Kutná Hora [Kuttenberg], begun in the year 1512 and created by the famous German mason Benedikt Ried [1454 – 1534], surely represents one of the most intricate examples of this particular late gothic style. Apart from this just being one of the most gorgeous late medieval ceilings known to me, there is one specific  reason why I wanted to show you the vaulting of St. Barbara’s today:

Pattern: Fenimore by Jared Flood
Yarn: Green Mountain Spinnery Maine Organic[Colour: Grey]
Needles: 3,5 mm and 5 mm
[More project details on Ravelry]

Isn’t it just amazing how the cables of this lovely tam correspond to the forms of late medieval vaulting? I just became aware of this coincidence whilst in the middle of the knitting process, and I must admit that I find it really fascinating [although I still do not know what to make of it].

What I do know, however, is that I enjoyed knitting this little project very much. It is perfect for knitting some rows in-between work or in the evening before going to sleep, since the fabric grows very fast and the cable pattern is very easy to knit, although it may look complicated at first sight.  The yarn is very lovely, too. It is spun from untreated organic wool, and I think the natural colour consisting of white, gray and brown fibre adds a very interesting quality to the pattern and goes very well together with the cables. All in all, a very lovely project! And: I will have to think some more about those rib vaults and cables …

 

4 Responses to “Withered Stones”

  1. krisstl said

    this correspondance is really nice !

  2. A lovely juxtaposition!

  3. YarnSnob said

    Loving those cables and your braid :)

  4. Wool Store said

    I like the pattern and the color. Really nice!

Leave a Reply

