Autumnal Knitting [Northern Woods]

September 16, 2010

The days are slowly getting shorter and chillier over here, and although the sunny afternoons still feel a lot like summer, one can already detect the coming autumn in the smell of the crisp morning air. And as much as I will miss summer with its vibrant colours, warm temperatures and serene evenings, the knitter in me looks forward to the wintery season and its manifold fibre- and yarn-related possibilities. This little project got me in the right mood for the forthcoming dark and cosy november nights on my couch:

Northern Woods

Pattern: Idlewood by Cecily Glowik MacDonald
Yarn: Jamieson’s Shetland Heather [colour: 1350 North Sea]
Needles: 6mm and 6.5mm
[More project details on Ravelry]

Apart from Idlewood simply being a gorgeously stylish design, I particularly enjoyed Ā knitting once again a project in a worsted weight yarn. My last finished projects were all made of fingering weight [perfect for summer knitting…], and as much as I love the delicate textures one can achieve on 3mm needles, I really enjoyed the very rewarding progress I made knitting mindless stockinette in the round on 6.5mm thick instruments.

Northern Woods

Jamieson’s Shetland Heather is a particularly beautiful yarn – soft yet strong it combines all the qualities a good woolen yarn should have. And the colour! ‘North Sea’ is surely the most amazing blueish-grey shade known to mankind – look at how all those lovely grey, black and blue fibres mingle into one beautiful vibrant texture!

Northern Wood

All in all, this project has to be considered as a complete success. Seriously, how can one resist a short-sleeved tunic and a large and snuggly cowl in one single piece? Even our very attentive little observers seemed to agree…

Northern Woods

4 Responses to “Autumnal Knitting [Northern Woods]”

  1. yarnsnob said

    I have to admit that your Idlewood literally blew me away, it made me breathless, it made my heart skip several beats, it is totally stunning. You look absolutely AMAZING in it. I am in awe and I want to knit one just like yours. xx

  2. nadia said

    yarnsnob said everything : you look amazing in this stunning Idlewood :)

  3. Renee said

    Absolutely lovely knit! And fits you so well. Going into my queue too. :)

Leave a Reply

