Little dots for little steps

August 23, 2010

I have always loved fashion and textiles, and have always had much fun in expressing the different facets of my personality through the way I dress and combine garments. It is therefore all the more remarkable that until very recently, I used this creative energy more or less exclusively to knit garments, but never really started to sew any. This has to change. In fact, it already has:

Little Dots Little Dots

I made this sweet little dress for [c]’s adorable little niece who was born in February, and I must say, it was a very good start for my now hopefully steadily blooming sewing career. The pattern is very suitable for beginners, since each step is explained very clearly through text and photographs.

Little Dots

It was very much fun to see the plain fabric transform between my fingers, scissors and sewing machine, since I experienced the sewing of a garment as very different from knitting, though both have very beautiful meditative qualities. I’m looking very much forward to further experiment with these different approaches…

Little Dots

Pattern: Sweet Little Baby Dress by Leila and Ben [via Magpie patterns]
Fabric: 100% Cotton Print [via Komolka]
Size: 6 to 9 months
[More project details on My Sewing Circle]

Inspiration for this particular project was provided by Nadia over at itty-bitty blog!. Her taste in baby clothes and knits is unbeatable, and it is to a great part for her lovely projects that I finally did my first little steps on my sewing machine…

[As for the lovely children’s book you might have noticed in the pictures – I will tell you about that some other time…]

One Response to “Little dots for little steps”

  1. nadia said

    this little dress ! she’s so cute !
    a good choice for first steps in sewing ;)

Leave a Reply

